Bookmark and Share
General Information, Honors & Awards, Media Advisory, Student Spotlight

LSU Student Named Prestigious Goldwater Scholar, Three Receive Honorable Mention

Baton Rouge native Carl Sabottke receives scholarship worth up to $7,500

04/03/2012 03:13 PM

BATON ROUGE – LSU junior Carl Sabottke of Baton Rouge has been awarded the prestigious, nationally competitive Goldwater Scholarship by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program, and sophomore Zachary Fitzpatrick of Holden, La.; sophomore Corey Landry of Denham Springs, La.; and junior Tiffany Lemon or Opelousas, La., received Honorable Mention. All four students are members of the LSU Honors College and LA-STEM Research Scholars.


“We are extremely proud of all four of these students for being recognized by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation for their academic achievements,” said LSU Chancellor Michael Martin. “These students are among the best in the nation, and we are pleased to see them taking advantage of the opportunities presented to them and applaud their hard work and commitment to pursuing careers in the STEM – science, technology, engineering and math – disciplines.”


The Goldwater Scholarship can be used to cover the cost of tuition, fees, books and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.


Sabottke is chemical physics major with a perfect grade-point average in the College of Science. Sabottke, who will graduate from LSU in May 2013, hopes to pursue a Ph.D. in neuroscience and to conduct research in theoretical neuroscience and teach at the university level. His desire is to ultimately use theoretical and computational models to help improve clinical treatments for neurological and psychological disorders. He has a particular interest in improving models and treatments for obsessive-compulsive disorder.


Fitzpatrick is a biochemistry major with a perfect grade-point average in the College of Science. Fitzpatrick, who will graduate from LSU in May 2014, hopes to pursue an M.D./Ph.D. in neuroscience and to conduct translational research in neurodegenerative diseases.


Landry is a bioengineering major with a perfect grade-point average in the College of Engineering. Landry, who will graduate from LSU in May 2014, hopes to pursue a Ph.D. in biomedical engineering, conduct research in biomaterials and nanotechnology, and teach a service-learning design course focused on global health.


Lemon is a biochemistry major in the College of Science. She will graduate from LSU in May 2013 and hopes to pursue a Ph.D. in biomedical science and to conduct research, teach at the university level and develop programs exposing underrepresented students to science.  


The Board of Trustees of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation awarded 282 scholarships for the 2012–13 academic year to undergraduate sophomores and juniors from the United States.


The Goldwater Scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,123 mathematics, science and engineering students nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide. The 282 students awarded scholarships include 174 men and 108 women, and virtually all intend to obtain a Ph.D. as their degree objective. Twenty scholars are mathematics majors, 194 are science and related majors, 58 are majoring in engineering and 10 are computer science majors. Many of the scholars have dual majors in a variety of mathematics, science, engineering and computer disciplines.


The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established by Public Law 99-661 on Nov. 14, 1986. The scholarship program honoring Sen. Barry M. Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields.


Since its first award in 1989, the foundation has bestowed more than 6,200 scholarships worth approximately $39 million.


The Honors College Office of Fellowship Advising was created to assist students campus-wide in applying for prestigious national scholarships and fellowships, such as the Udall, Truman, Rhodes, Marshall, Gates, Mitchell, Soros and Goldwater awards. Students interested in applying for these and other scholarship opportunities should contact


For more information on the LSU Honors College, visit


The Louisiana Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, or LA-STEM, Research Scholars Program is funded by the National Science Foundation and the Louisiana Board of Regents and managed by the Office of Strategic Initiatives at LSU.


LA-STEM admits students who show great potential to succeed in STEM areas at both the undergraduate and graduate levels, and who have distinguished themselves as scholars and leaders. The Office of Strategic Initiatives looks for students who are committed to promoting diversity in the sciences in their undergraduate and graduate careers. Students are required to maintain the highest of academic standards to remain in the program. They also exemplify a strong dedication to mentoring, enthusiasm for diverse cultural experiences and a passion for serving the community.


For more information on LA-STEM at LSU, visit

LSU Media Relations