Bookmark and Share
Diversity, General Information, Honors & Awards, Student Spotlight

LSU Black Faculty and Staff Caucus to Host Black Scholars Awards Program

03/19/2012 11:54 AM

BATON ROUGE – Eli Jones, dean of the E. J. Ourso College of Business, will serve as the keynote speaker at the LSU Black Faculty and Staff Caucus’ 27th annual Black Scholars Awards Program on Sunday, March 25, at 2 p.m. in the LSU Student Union Theater. The event is free and open to the community.


The program will recognize more than 675 African-American students, which represents nearly a quarter of all African-American students enrolled at LSU, who have achieved a 3.00 grade point average or higher for their academic accomplishments.


In addition to the academic awards, five special awards will also be presented. The A.P. Tureaud Milestone Award, named in honor of the noted Louisiana civil rights advocate and awarded to a student or students with first-time achievements at LSU, will be awarded to LaTosha Lynette Mullins, a master’s student in Public Administration in the Public Administration Institute in the E. J. Ourso College of Business.


The Huel D. Perkins Leadership Award, given in honor of Huel Perkins, former executive assistant to the chancellor, will be awarded to Megan Janee Barnum, a senior majoring in biological engineering in the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering in the College of Engineering.


The Charles E. Harrington Graduate Student Award, named in honor of LSU’s first black graduate student, will be awarded to Jared Christian Avery, a doctoral student in educational leadership and research in the Department of Educational Theory, Policy & Practice in the College of Education.


The W.E.B. DuBois Award, named for the noted civil rights advocate, will go to Natalie Renee Derouen, a junior majoring in biology in the Department of Biology in the College of Science. This award is presented to the junior or senior with the highest grade point average.


For the second straight year, the Jesse Owens Athletic Award will be presented to All-American long jumper Melissa Rumona Ogbourne, a senior majoring in human resource education in the School of Human Resource Education & Workforce Development in the College of Agriculture. Ogbourne is the student-athlete with the highest grade point average.


For more information, contact Yvette Marsh, director of training and development in LSU Human Resource Management, at 225-578-8333 or by email at

LSU Media Relations