Bookmark and Share
Campus Events, General Information, Honors & Awards

Nominations Being Accepted for 2012 Manship Prize

03/07/2012 03:26 PM


BATON ROUGE – Nominations are being accepted for the 2012 Manship Prize, sponsored by the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication and awarded by the school’s Board of Visitors. The prize recognizes an individual or organization based in the United States for exemplary use of digital media and technology in the service of public affairs.


Nominees may be a journalist, documentarian, author, blogger, website-content provider, organization, or others whose work in and/or through media has advanced citizens’ ability to better understand and respond to challenges in the public arena. Their work may be local, regional, national or global.


The winner will receive a $1,000 prize and deliver a brief public talk at the award event at LSU in fall 2012.


Nominations, including self-nomination, are due April 2; there is no entry fee.


The winner will be selected and notified by mid-May.


Nominations must include supportive information about the individual or organization’s contribution to civic engagement through the innovative use of media; a resume or curriculum vitae; work samples such as copies of print or electronic news stories; transcriptions or summaries of electronic submissions; web links to relevant live pages or screen shots with publication dates; copies of eligible creative/published works such as books, journal articles, DVDs, etc.  Images sent by email should be in JPG format.


Send nominations to:
Manship Prize c/o Mary Ann Sternberg
Hard copy to: LSU School of Mass Communication
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 70803-7202
Fax: 225-578-2126


For more information, please contact Sternberg at or 225-578-0416.


The Manship Prize, first presented in 1998, is funded by an endowment from the Douglas L. Manship family and reflects the Manship School’s leadership in the area of media and public affairs.


Previous Winners:

• Michael Bloomberg, founder of Bloomberg News
• Anthony Ridder, chair and CEO of Knight-Ridder
• Charles Benton, chair and CEO of Benton Foundation
• Berry Cooper, founder of
• Reid Ashe, COO of Media General
• Brian Lamb, founder of C-SPAN
• The Times-Picayune and WWL-TV for respective coverage of Hurricane Katrina
• Joe Trippi, political strategist
• Bill Adair, editor, PolitiFact
• Jan Schaffer, executive director, J-Lab
• Investigative News Network

LSU Media Relations