Bookmark and Share
Arts & Entertainment, General Information, Honors & Awards, Media Advisory

LSU Press Books and Authors Garner More Awards

Eight authors recognized for excellence in U.S. history, literary studies, Louisiana heritage and African American history

01/31/2012 04:26 PM

BATON ROUGE – Only a month into the new year, several LSU Press books and authors have been acknowledged for outstanding contributions to their fields. These awards reinforce LSU Press’ commitment to excellence and their contributions to LSU’s 2020 Flagship Agenda.


Earlier this month, Mechal Sobel, author of “Painting a Hidden Life: The Art of Bill Traylor,” received the American Historical Association’s Honorary Foreign Membership Award, honoring a distinguished foreign scholar “who has notably aided the work of American historians.”  


“The Louisiana Populist Movement, 1881-1900” by Donna A. Barnes, received the Louisiana Literary Award, presented by the Louisiana Library Association. The award committee selected Barnes as the winner based on “merit, treatment of Louisiana life, interpretation of Louisiana heritage, and possible value to the permanent record of the state.” Another LSU Press book, “Public Spaces, Private Gardens: A History of Designed Landscapes in New Orleans” by Lake Douglas, received Second Honorable Mention. Barnes will accept the award at the Louisiana Library Association’s Annual Conference Book Dinner on March 22 in Shreveport, La.


Rachel L. Emanuel and A.P. Tureaud, Jr., authors of “A More Noble Cause: A.P. Tureaud and the Struggle for Civil Rights in Louisiana,” received the Louisiana State Conference NAACP’s Alexander P. Tureaud Black Citizenship Award. The award recognized their book and careers for having “advanced the progress of African Americans.” Medals were presented at the Annual State Awards Ceremony on Jan. 28 at the Southern University Law Center.


Three LSU Press Books were named as Outstanding Academic Titles by Choice magazine. Joe B. Fulton’s “The Reconstruction of Mark Twain: How a Confederate Bushwhacker 


Became the Lincoln of Our Literature,” Michael Kreyling’s “The South That Wasn’t There: Postsouthern Memory and History,” and Peggy Prenshaw’s “Composing Selves: Southern Women and Autobiography” were chosen from 7,263 titles reviewed by Choice during the past year. Choice recognized the books for “excellence in scholarship and presentation, the significance of their contribution to the field, and their value as important – often the first – treatment of their subject.”


For more information about these LSU Press award-winning books and authors, visit or contact Erin Rolfs at 225-578-8282.

LSU Media Relations