Bookmark and Share
Media Advisory, Research

LSU Experts Available to Speak About 9/11 Anniversary

08/29/2011 09:17 AM

BATON ROUGE – In recognition of the upcoming 10th anniversary of Sept. 11, 2001, LSU’s Office of Communications & University Relations has compiled a list of campus experts in areas related to the tragedies of that day. This list is meant to help media find expert sources as reporters around the world reexamine one of our country’s darkest moments.


This list is not meant to be comprehensive. For more information or to locate an expert not listed below, contact Ashley Berthelot at 225-578-3870 or aberth4@lsu.edu.

 

JOURNALISM DURING AND POST-EVENT

 

Ralph Izard
Department of Journalism, Manship School of Mass Communication
izard@lsu.edu, 225-578-9294
Area of expertise: covering disasters, media coverage of 9/11

 

Andrea Miller
Department of Journalism, Manship School of Mass Communication
almiller@lsu.edu, 225-578-3146
Area of expertise
: visual crisis coverage and effects of trauma on journalists

 

Judith Sylvester
Department of Journalism, Manship School of Mass Communication
jsylves@lsu.edu, 225-578-2067
Area of expertise
: women journalists and 9/11

 

CYBER SECURITY

 

Peter Chen
Department of Computer Science, College of Science
chen@csc.lsu.edu, 225-578-2483
Area of expertise: cyber security  

 

Supratik Mukhopadhyay
Department of Computer Science, College of Science
supratik@csc.lsu.edu, 225-578-1495
Area of expertise: cyber security  

 

MIDDLE EASTERN CULTURE AND POLITICS

 

Mark Gasiorowski
Department of Political Science/International Relations, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
pogasi@lsu.edu, 225-578-3001
Area of expertise: Middle East

 

Reza Pirbhai
Department of History, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
rpirbhai@lsu.edu, 225-578-4501
Area of expertise
: doctrinal and historical roots of Islamist groups, the varied nature of Islamists in South Asia, U.S.-European Union Soviet-Asia relations

 

Reem Meshal
Department of Religious Studies, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
rmeshal@lsu.edu, 225-578-2220

Area of expertise: ideological and historical movements of groups involve and their relevance in contemporary Muslim world – impact of war on Terror on them and relations between the U.S. and Muslim world

 

William Rowe
Department of Geography & Anthropology, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
rowe@lsu.edu
, 225-578-6077
Area of expertise
: Afghanistan

 

Jacob Berman
Department of English, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
jberman@lsu.edu, 225-578-3136
Area of expertise
: Arab American identity politics post 9/11 and America’s historical relations with the Arab-Islamic World

 

HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVE

 

Karl Roider
Department of History, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
kroider@lsu.edu, 225-578-4498
Area of expertise: historical perspectives on terrorism

 

DOMESTIC POLITICAL IMPLICATIONS

 

Wayne Parent
Department of Political Science, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
poparent@lsu.edu, 225-578-2141
Area of expertise
: political implications of terror on the United States

 

Chris Weber
Department of Political Science, College of Humanities & Social Sciences/Manship School of Mass Communication
crweber@lsu.edu, 225-578-6395
Area of expertise
: emotional and political response to disaster

 

TERRORISM

 

David Sobek
Department of Political Science, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
dsobek@lsu.edu
, 225-578-2134
Area of expertise
: causes, types and consequences of terrorism

 

Dustin Howes
Department of Political Science, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
dhowes1@lsu.edu, 225-578-2619
Area of expertise
: terror as spectacle, the terror of states and non-state actors, killing of Osama Bin Laden, liberal democracies and terror, torture and terror, terror and the rule of law, terrorism versus nonviolence as “weapons of the weak,” Arab Spring versus terrorism

 

PSYCHOLOGICAL IMPACT

 

Mary Lou Kelly
Department of Psychology, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
mkelley@lsu.edu, 225-578-4113
Area of expertise
: psychological impacts of exposure to violence on children

 

Thompson Davis
Department of Psychology, College of Humanities & Social Sciences
ted@lsu.edu, 225-578-1500
Area of expertise
: assessment and treatment of anxiety disorders in children, adolescents and young adults

 

CHEMICAL & BIOLOGICAL AGENTS & SECURITY

 

Kermit Murray
Department of Chemistry, College of Science
kkmurray@lsu.edu, 225-578-3417
Area of expertise: chemical and biological agents

 

Gregg Pettis
Department of Biological Sciences, College of Science
gpettis@lsu.edu
, 225-578-2798
Area of expertise
: Keeping chemical and biological agents secure

 

BIOTERRORISM & FOOD SECURITY

 

Lucina Lampila
Department of Food Science, LSU/LSU AgCenter
llampila@agcenter.lsu.edu, 225-578-5207
Area of expertise
: food safety, risk assessment, changes in industry

LSU Research Communications
225-578-3870