Bookmark and Share
Honors & Awards

LSU Students Honored by American Kinesiology Association

06/15/2011 08:00 AM

BATON ROUGE – Three LSU College of Education Department of Kinesiology students – Erin Madara, Jessica Mouse and Katherine Shepard – have been selected by the American Kinesiology Association, or AKA, as 2010 National Scholar Award winners. This year the National Scholar Awards recognized 27 undergraduate students with distinct academic and leadership records.


Shepard is a native of Mandeville, La., while Mouse is from Tampa, Fla. and Madara from South Windsor, Conn.


Students must be seniors who are expected to graduate in the current calendar year.  Students are nominated by AKA member kinesiology department faculty across the United States.  All nominees must demonstrate an exceptional interest in the field of kinesiology and possess personal qualities that lend themselves to assuming leadership positions in the profession. Nominees must have an overall GPA of at least 3.50 and be in the top 20 percent of their class.


Students enrolled in kinesiology, exercise science, health and human performance, physical education teacher education, sports management and athletic training are eligible.


The AKA is a professional organization of over 120 college and university departments dedicated to the unification and support of kinesiology in higher education. T. Gilmour Reeve, LSU vice provost for academic planning & review, serves as AKA president.


For more information about the American Kinesiology Association, including a full list of 2010 Scholars, visit


For more information about the College of Education Department of Kinesiology, see


Contact Billy Gomila
LSU Media Relations