Bookmark and Share
Honors & Awards, Research, Science & Technology

LSU Honors 10 Researchers Integral to Oil Spill Response at First Home Football Game

Scientists receive standing ovation from 92,400 Tiger fans at LSU vs. Mississippi State

09/23/2010 03:57 PM

From left to right: LSU Chancellor Michael Martin; Richard Shaw, associate dean of the School of the Coast & Environment; Edward Overton, professor emeritus in the Department of Environmental Sciences; Gary King, professor of biological sciences; Annette Engel, associate professor of geology and geophysics;  John Smith, professor in the Department of Petroleum Engineering;  John Pardue, professor of civil & environmental engineering; Darryl Bourgoyne, director of the LSU Petroleum Engineering Research and Technology Transfer, or PERTT, lab;  Matthew Lee, professor in the Department of Sociology; Troy Blanchard, associate professor of sociology; and David Nieland, manager of the Louisiana Sea Grant College Program.


BATON ROUGE – Now that the Deepwater Horizon oil leak has been capped, many have taken a moment to reflect on the nearly five months of oil spilling into the Gulf, the lives and livelihoods lost and environments damaged or changed. Some of the unsung heroes are scientists who have been at the forefront of the environmental disaster since the very beginning – researchers who reached into their own pockets to fund studies that may someday provide a better idea of the oil’s true impact.


To honor the commitment shown by many of LSU’s dedicated researchers, 10 faculty members were recognized on Saturday, Sept. 18, during the LSU vs. Mississippi State football game in Tiger Stadium.


Those recognized include:


LSU School of the Coast & Environment

  • Edward Overton, professor emeritus, Department of Environmental Sciences
  • Richard Shaw, associate dean of the school, Department of Oceanography & Coastal Sciences


LSU College of Science

  • Annette Engel, associate professor, Department of Geology & Geophysics
  • Gary King, professor, Department of Biological Sciences


LSU College of Engineering

  • Darryl Bourgoyne, director, Petroleum Engineering Research and Technology Transfer Lab, Department of Petroleum Engineering
  • John Pardue, professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • John Smith, professor, Department of Petroleum Engineering


LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences

  • Troy Blanchard, associate professor, Department of Sociology
  • Matthew Lee, professor, Department of Sociology


Louisiana Sea Grant College Program

  • David Nieland, manager


“So many of our researchers have participated in extensive research and service related to the disaster in the Gulf,” said Doris Carver, interim vice chancellor of research and economic development. “These 10 faculty and staff members are representative of many from the LSU community who demonstrated a strong sense of public service, produced substantial research efforts and also demonstrated commitment above and beyond their normal research and teaching obligations. All of our faculty who worked hard to ensure that the oil would be cleaned, analyzed and mitigated are to be applauded.”

LSU Research Communications