We're Committed

LSU is committed to ending sexual violence, and creating and maintaining a community of respect. Learn about survivor options for support, reporting, and training and education opportunities for the LSU community by the We're Committed site. 

We're Committed Site

Poster

Quick Links

Patient Portal

EMERGENCIES

APPOINTMENTS

LOCATION & HOURS

FORMS & SURVEY

Sexual Assault Resources

 

Lighthouse Program

The Lighthouse Program provides interpersonal violence prevention, advocacy, and support to the LSU campus community. The program assists student survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, relationship violence and stalking. These services are available Monday thru Friday 8am-5pm. If you need support services or evidence collected after hours or on the weekend, please contact STAR (Sexual Trauma Awareness and Response) at 225-383-RAPE, The Phone at 225-924-LSU1, or your local police department.

Purpose

Louisiana State University is committed to providing confidential, nonjudgmental and appropriate support services for all sexual assault survivors, regardless of gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, age, ability, or whether or not they report the crime. In addition, the University has a vested interest in obtaining an accurate account of the number of sexual assaults occurring on- or off-campus involving student survivors. The Lighthouse Program is designed to accomplish both of these goals, as well as to meet federal mandates.

The term survivor will be used to refer to someone who has directly experienced a sexual assault. We acknowledge that the person has survived the incident and is beginning the path toward recovery. The term student-at-risk will refer to a student who is in an abusive/violent dating relationship, who is experiencing further abuse after terminating the relationship, or who is being stalked. The Lighthouse Program is housed in the Office of Wellness and Health Promotion in the Student Health Center, but advocates are located in many different departments and offices on campus.

Role & Function of Lighthouse Advocates

Lighthouse Advocates are specially trained University personnel who can provide confidential guidance and support to LSU students who have directly experienced interpersonal violence (sexual assault, domestic violence, relationship violence, and stalking) or who want to help a friend in need.

Regardless of how long ago the traumatic event or violent incident occurred, you are encouraged to talk to a Lighthouse Advocate about your situation.

The period after a traumatic event can be confusing. Lighthouse Advocates ensure that no survivor or student-at-risk has to navigate the medical, legal, mental health, or University system alone.

Lighthouse Advocates will provide survivors and students-at-risk with options for recovery, including assistance with:

  • Filing a police report
  • Filing a University judicial report
  • Obtaining medical care
  • Obtaining emotional support
  • Arranging safe housing
  • Securing academic accommodations, as well as referrals to appropriate services and resources.

To request Lighthouse Program Services, please click the the link below for an advocate to contact you. All information will remain confidential: Lighthouse Program Services Request Form.

Contacts

The following are Lighthouse Advocates at LSU:

Main Contacts

Susan Bareis, Assistant Director, Student Health Center | 225.578.6521 | sbareis@lsu.edu

By Department

Campus Life

• Margo Jolet • 578-5955 • mjolet1@lsu.edu
• Molly Reddick • 578-5160 • mreddick@lsu.edu
• Craig Marcus • 578-5967 • cmarcus@lsu.edu

Center for Academic Success

• Nanette Cheatham • 578-0845 • ncheat1@lsu.edu

Center for Advising and Counseling

• Jessica Aslin • 578-8251 • jmorr66@lsu.edu
• Andrea Jones • 578-2331 • ajones9@lsu.edu
• Bethanie Tinker • 578-8281 • btinke1@lsu.edu
• Brittney Johnson • 578-8252 • brittneyj@lsu.edu
• Johnna Zapletal • 578-3379 • johnna@lsu.edu

Christ the King Church

• Dianne Fontenot • 205-8943 • dfontenot@ctk-lsu.org
• Susan Hankel • 344-8595 • shankel@ctk-lsu.org
• Melinda LeBlanc • 344-8595 • mleblanc@ctk-lsu.org
• Cynthia Losavio • 344-8595 • liturgy@ctk-lsu.org
• Carla Rutherford • 344-8595 • crutherford@ctk-lsu.org
• Robert Stine • 344-8595 • rstine@ctk-lsu.org

College of Agriculture

• Hallie Dozier • 578-7219 • hdozier@agcenter.lsu.edu (School of Renewable Natural Resources)

College of Business

• Ashley Junek • 578-3211 • cxjunek@lsu.edu

College of Engineering

• Lisa Fontenot • 578-5731 • lisaf@eng.lsu.edu
• Joseph Odenwald • 578-5708 • jodenw2@lsu.edu
• Leigh Potts • 578-7141 • lpotts@lsu.edu
• Barbara Reonas • 578-3254 • breonas@lsu.edu

College of Human Sciences & Education

• Ashley Gray • 578-7885 • ashleygray@lsu.edu
• Lisa Newman • 578-3622 • lnewman@lsu.edu
• Bridget Robicheaux • 578-0483 • brobic@lsu.edu
• Haley Shows • 578-9134 • hshows@lsu.edu
• Alyssa Kimmell • 578-2331 • akimme1@lsu.edu

College of Humanities & Social Sciences

• Melanie Buchmann • 578-3141 • mbuchm2@lsu.edu
• Kathryn Loveless • 578-3141 • ktrich1@lsu.edu
• Shannon Rosche • 578-3141 • srosche@lsu.edu
• Erin Snyder • 578-3141 • erins@lsu.edu

College of Science

• Robby Bowen • 578-4200 • rbowen@lsu.edu

Cox Communications Academic Center for Student-Athletes

• Rebecca Hubbard • 578-1893 • hubbard@lsu.edu

Department of Chemical Engineering

• John Flake • 578-3060 • johnflake@lsu.edu

Department of History

• John Henderson • 578-4452 • jbhende@lsu.edu

Disability Services

• Keiara Beverly • 578-7100 • kbeverly@lsu.edu
• Benjamin Cornwell • 578-4401 • bjcornw@lsu.edu
• Jordan Griffin • 578-4913 • jtgriffin@lsu.edu

Graduate School

• Chantelle Collier • 578-1353 • collier@lsu.edu
• Telisha Snell • 578-2381 • telishas@lsu.edu
• Tiffany Treloar • 578-2311 • gradsvcs@lsu.edu

Graduate Student Services

• Laura Meikir • 578-2324 • lmeiki@lsu.edu

Greek Life

• Angela Guillory • 578-2171 • angelagu@lsu.edu
• Teresia Greer • 578-2171 • rgreer7@lsu.edu

International Cultural Center

• Maureen Hewitt • 342-3084 • hewittm@lsu.edu

LaCASU

• Shelley Lee • 578-5650 • shelleylee@lsu.edu
• Allison Smith • 578-5958 • asmi248.edu

Law Center

• Daphne James • 578-7591 • daphne.james@law.lsu.edu

LSU Wesley Foundation

• Adam Darragh • 904-607-5407 • adamldarragh@lsu.edu

Manship School of Mass Communication

• Courtni Guidry • 578-3141 • cguid17@lsu.edu
• Helen Taylor • 578-2040 • htaylor@lsu.edu

Office of Multicultural Affairs

• Andrea Grant • 578-4339 • agrant10@lsu.edu
• Karie Holton • 578-4339 • lgbtqproject@lsu.edu

Olinde Career Center

• Jessica Glasgow • 578-2470 • jsand54@lsu.edu
• Joyce Wakefield • 578-8527 • jwakef@lsu.edu

Parent & Family Programs

• Aimee Frierson • 578-1173 • afriers@lsu.edu

 

School of Social Work

• Juan Barthelemy • 578-0434 • jbarthel@lsu.edu

School of Theater

• John Fletcher • 578-3544 • jfletch@lsu.edu

Theater Department

• Stacey Cabaj • 578-7093 • staceycabaj@lsu.edu
• Karli Henderson • 578-9277 • khend25@lsu.edu
• Kristin Sosnowsky • 578-9274 • ksosno1@lsu.edu

Student Advocacy & Accountability

• Matthew Dean • 578-4307 • mdean16@lsu.edu
• Danielle Ford • 578-4307 • dford23@lsu.edu
• Rachel Champagne • 578-4307 • rspencer@lsu.edu
• Eddie St. Vil • 578-4307 • estvil@lsu.edu

Student Health Center - Wellness and Health Promotion

• Susan Bareis • 578-6521 • sbareis@lsu.edu
• Emily Fields • 578-5718 • efields@lsu.edu
• Julie Hupperich • 578-5717 • jhupp@lsu.edu
• Kathy Saichuk • 578-6525 • ksaichuk@lsu.edu

Student Health Center - Medical Clinic

• Sarah Keating • 578-6271 • ssnyde2@lsu.edu
• Glenda Kimball • gkimba1@lsu.edu • 578-6089
• Lauren Loveless • ktrich1@lsu.edu • 578-6576
• Charmain Watson • 578-9050 • cwatso2@lsu.edu

Undergraduate Admissions

• Sara Keimig • 578-1423 • skeimi1@lsu.edu
• Guadalupe Lamadrid • 578-1221 • glamadrid@lsu.edu

University Chaplin

• Sarah Farley • 343-0408 • sfarle3@lsu.edu

University College

• Jessica Morris • 578-8251 • jmorr66@lsu.edu
• Troy Roberston • 578-2844 • trober5@lsu.edu
• Michael Seaberry • 578-2874 • mseabe2@lsu.edu
• Ashley Statham • 578-8209 • astath1@lsu.edu

University Methodist

• Colleen Bookter • 344-0343 • colleen@universitymethodist.org
• Stew Craig • 937-2367 • stew@universitymethodist.org

UREC

• Kelly Welborn-Landers • 578-7033 • kwelbo1@lsu.edu
• Jessica Pellerin • 578-8601 • jpell21@lsu.edu

Veterinary School

• Kayla Baudoin • 578-9194 • kholla1@lsu.edu
• Ginger Guttner • 578-9922 • gguttner@lsu.edu
• Stephanie Johnson • 578-9547 • sjohn17@lsu.edu

Wesley Foundation

• Adam Darragh • 344-7012 • wesley.lsu@gmail.com

Women's Center

• Summer Steib • 578-1714 • summers@lsu.edu