DOW Chemical Award for Excellence in Macromolecular Studies

 DOW Chemical

The recipient of this award must be a full time graduate student majoring in any area of macromolecular science or engineering at Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College. Each year, a recipient will be selected by the co-Directors of the LSU Macromolecular Studies Group and approved by the dean of the Graduate School. The recipient must have an overall grade point average of at least 3.5 in graduate level coursework at LSU, and must be a candidate.for the Ph.D. degree. Additional criteria for selection may include:

  1.  the imagination, resourcefulness and independence displayed by the student during the.conduct of his or her research, especially as evidenced by publications in referred   journals of high quality and by successful presentations at national or international scientific meetings;
  2.  commitment to teaching responsibilities, if any have been assigned; and,
  3.  the promise of the student for enhancing the capabilities and reputation of the LSU Macromolecular Studies Group.

This award is for one year but a recipient may be selected to receive this award more than once.


Previous Winners: 

  • 2017     Mirza Saputra 
  • 2016     Paulina Kolic
  • 2015     Caitlin Ayala
  • 2014     Wei Bai
  • 2013     Brian Imsick
  • 2012     Marsha Cole
  • 2011     Sergio de Rooy
  • 2010     Zorabel Lejuene
  • 2009     Wilson Serem
  • 2007     Ricky Nellas
  • 2006     Michael Easson
  • 2005     Marcus Etienne
  • 2004     Bertha Valle
  • 2003     Jed Aucoin
  • 2002     Hannah D. Farquar
  • 2001     Gerald J. Rathbone
  • 1999     Ted J. Gauthier
  • 1998     Charles L. Cantrell
  • 1997     James H. Flanagan, Jr