13th International Congress
on Combustion By-Products and Their Health Effects


The Adel Sarofim award is presented every two years to a scientist(s) for outstanding advancements in understanding combustion processes, formation of combustion by-products and mechanisms of their health effects. The awardee is selected from a pool of nominated researchers by the Executive Committee of the International Congress on Combustion By-products and Their Health Effects. Awardees are selected for their internationally renown scientific contributions to the fields mentioned above and for exemplary mentorship of students and junior investigators.

History of the award:
The Adel Sarofim Award was originally established to honor Dr. Adel Sarofim, who passed away in Dec 4, 2011 at the age of 77, for advancing our understanding of the mechanisms of pollutant emissions from combustors. At the time of his death, Dr. Sarofim was Senior Staff at Reaction Engineering International, a Presidential Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Utah, and Professor Emeritus: Department of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He had >350 publications and >5,000 citations and had trained or mentored >80 PhD students. Dr. Sarofim participated in numerous national and international advisory panels and editorial boards. In 2003, he was elected to the prestigious National Academy of Engineering and in 2004, he was awarded the George Westinghouse Gold Medal by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

2013 AWARD was presented to Drs Kathie Koshland and Donald Lucas

Dr. Kathie Koshland and Dr. Donald Lucas


Dr. Koshland is Vice Provost of Teaching, Learning, Academic Planning and Facilities of the University of California, Berkeley. She is also the Wood-Calvert Professor in Engineering Energy. She has made significant contributions to the understanding of the role of air pollution from an environmental (human) health systems perspective. She is also associate Director UC Berkeley SRP and has >70 publications.

Dr. Lucas is Staff scientist Environmental Energy Technologies Division of the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory
Combustion. He has significantly advanced our understanding of combustion generated air pollutants through the use of experimental chemical kinetics, novel diagnostic techniques for hazardous species, and combustion chemistry. He is also a Project Leader UC Berkeley SRP and has >50 publications.

Together Drs. Koshland and Lucas have published more than 40 manuscripts as co-authors and mentored in excess of 100 graduate students .

The past awardees:
2007 Prof. Adel Sarofim,
2009 Dr. Barry Dellinger (Louisiana State University),
2011 Dr. Bill Suk (Director of the Superfund Research Program),

If you would like to nominate a candidate for a future award please send an email to piccongress@lsu.edu with a subject line A. Sarofim Award Nomination and include an extended biography of the nominee.


Stephania Cormier, Ph.D.
Organizing Chair

We are communicating using web and video conferencing


  Louisiana State University


Mission Statement - Committees - Sponsors - 13th Congress - Previous Congresses - Abstract Submission - Travel Support -
Conference News