Water Conference Presentations

 

This list of presentations is in alphabetical order of who is lead author for each paper.

Highlighted text links to presentation in PDF format.

 

 

Characteristics of voluntary programs addressing nonpoint source pollution.

Naveen Adusumilli, nadusumilli@agcenter.lsu.edu. Louisiana State University AgCenter.


 

Lithological Influences on the Synthetic Precipitation Leaching Procedure Test and Implications to Assessment and Remediation at Southwest Foods Site in Lafayette, Louisiana (LDEQ Agency Interest no. 69569).

Carson Allen, School of Geosciences University of Louisiana. Steve Sinitiere, Kourco Environmental Services. Tim Duex, tduex@louisiana.edu School of Geosciences University of Louisiana Lafayette.


 

Groundwater extraction and allocation when there are stock externalities.

Dependra Bhatta, Krishna Paudel, kpaude1@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.  Frank Tsai, Louisiana State University.


 

An overview of trends within hydraulic fracturing in Haynesville Shale Gas Play, Louisiana.

Douglas Carlson dcarlson@lsu.edu Louisiana Geological Survey.


 

Impacts of wildfire emission to water bodies in US.

Kaiyu Chen, and Hongliang Zhang hlzhang@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

Three-dimensional Underseepage Evaluation for Profit Island Vicinity Levee.

Ye-Hong Chen yche122@lsu.edu, and Frank T.-C. Tsai Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University.


 

A pilot study for assessing freshwater flow impacts to Louisiana estuaries.

Ryan Clark rclark@thewaterinstitute.org, Melissa Baustian, Eric White, Yushi Wang, Harris Bienn, and Andrea Jerabek ajerabek@thewaterinstitute.org The Water Institute of the Gulf.


 

Can Public Policy Perpetuate the Memory of Flood Disasters.

Craig Colten ccolten@lsu.edu Department of Geography & Anthropology, Louisiana State University.


 

Intersection of Policy and Trends - Climate, Hypoxia, and Louisiana's Coast.

Doug Daigle jddaigle@lsu.edu United States Louisiana Hypoxia Working Group.


 

Advancing Irrigation for Agronomic Crops through STAMP.

Stacia Davis sdavis@agcenter.lsu.edu, and Daniel Fromme Louisiana State University AgCenter.


 

Water and Salt Characteristic Changes of Ulungur Lake and the Corresponding Reason Analysis.

Wenye Deng Xiinjiang Key Laboratory of Environment Pollution Monitoring and risk warning, Xiinjiang Academy of Environmental Protection Science, Yan Cheng 359797190@qq.com Xiinjiang Key Laboratory of Environment Pollution Monitoring and risk warning, Xiinjiang Academy of Environmental Protection Sciences, and Honglaing Zhang hlzhang@lsu.edu Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University.


 

Field Observations of Soil-Water Tension throughout a Capillary Fringe in New Iberia, Louisiana.

Timothy Duex tduex@louisiana.edu, and Ben Lissard Department of Geology, University of Louisiana Lafayette, and Steve Sinitiere Kourco Environmental Services.


 

Addressing Saltwater Intrusion in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Anthony Duplechin tony@cagwcc.com Capital Area Groundwater Conservation District.


 

Integration of Physically-Based Distributed Hydrologic model's into Local Flood Mapping Application.

Mohamed Elsaadani mohamed.elsaadani@louisiana.edu, and Emad Habib University of Louisiana at Lafayette.


 

A Laboratory Study on Turbulent Flow around Various Breakwater Structures.

Georgios Etsias msu-getsias@student.mcneese.edu, Dimitrios Dermisis, Ning Zhang, and Zhuang Li Department of Chemical, Civil and Mechanical Engineering, McNeese State University.


 

Mitigating Impact of Evacuation Waste on Vital Water Water Sources.

Lee Presley Gary Jr pgary@Tulane.edu Tulane University, Kari F. Brisolara Louisiana State University School of Public Health, and Robert S. Reimers Tulane University.


 

Dieback of Roseau Cane (Phragmites Australis) in Coastal Louisiana.

Madeline Gill Louisiana State University, Rodrigo Diaz rdiaz@agcenter.lsu.edu,

and Knight Ian Louisiana State University AgCenter, and Andy Nyman Louisiana State University, and iknight@agcenter.lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

Effects of climate change and emission scenarios on nitrate and sulfur deposition to surface water in Louisiana.

Hao Guo, and Hongliang Zhang hlzhang@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

Assessment of Effects of Climate Variability on Water Supply Stress in Louisiana: Opportunities and Implications for Sustainable Water Management.

Emad Habib habib@louisiana.edu University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Hisham Eldardiry University of Louisiana at Lafayette (currently with University of Washington), and David Borrok Missouri University of Science and Technology.


 

Deposition of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) to China water bodies.

Fenglin Han, and Hongliang Zhang hlzhang@lsu.edu. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University.


 

Fresh and brackish groundwaters of the Louisiana continental shelf – do they exist?

Jeffrey S. Hanor hanor@lsu.edu Department of Geology and Geophysics, Louisiana State University.


 

Dissolved carbon and CO2 outgassing dynamics in the freshwater-saltwater mixing zone of a coastal river entering the Northern Gulf of Mexico.

Songjie He she5@lsu.edu Louisiana State University, and Y. Jun Xu yjxu@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

The tensile root strength of Spartina patens: response to flood duration and nutrient addition.

Lauris Hollis, and R. Eugene Turner euturne@lsu.edu Lousiana State University.


 

Microbial community changes at the bottom sediments in tailwater recovery system influenced by the concentrated poultry feeding operations.

Changyoon Jeong cjeong@agcenter.lsu.edu Red River Research Station, LSU AgCenter, and Jong Hyun Ham Department of Plant Pathology and Crop Physiology, LSU AgCenter.


 

Calibration and Water Budget Analysis of the Mississippi River Alluvial Aquifer Groundwater Model between 2004 and 2015.

Ramazan Karakullukcu rkarak2@lsu.edu and, Frank Tsai ftsai@lsu.edu Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University.


 

3-D Modeling of Subsurface Stratigraphy in The Lower Mississippi River Delta Plain.

An Li, and Frank Tsai ftsai@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

Estimating Water Withdrawals from Principal Aquifers in the United States, 2015.

John Lovelace, Molly Maupin mamaupin@usgs.gov, Martha Nielsen mnielsen@usgs.gov, Amy Read aread@usgs.gov, and Chid Murphy cjmurphy@usgs.gov United States Geological Survey.


 

Contributions of air pollution and climate warming to tufa wetland degradation in Jiuzhaigou National Nature Reserve, eastern rim of the Qinghai-Tibetan Plateau, China.

X. Qiao Institute of New Energy and Low-CarbonTechnology, Sichuan University and Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, H.L. Zhang Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, Y. Tang tangya@scu.edu.cn Department of Environment, College of Architecture and Environment, Sichuan University, Q. Ying Zachry Department of Civil Engineering, Texas A&M University, S. Lugli Dipartimento di Scienze Chimiche e Geologiche, Università degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia, and J. Du Jiuzhaigou Administrative Bureau.


 

Carbon Dioxide Emissions from the Lower Mississippi River.

Jeremy Reiman jreima1@lsu.edu, and Y. Jun Xu Louisiana State University.


 

High Resolution Modeling of Extreme Floods in Low-gradient urbanized environments: A case study in South Louisiana.

Haitham Saad has5302lab@gmail.com University of Louisiana, Emad Habib, and Robert Miller University of Louisiana.


 

The Belowground Intersection of Nutrients and Buoyancy in a Freshwater Marsh.

R. Eugene Turner euturne@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

Calibrating Chicot aquifer groundwater model: challenges and solutions.

Hamid Vahdat-Aboueshagh hvahda1@lsu.edu, and Frank Tsai ftsai@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

Sediment availability in the middle Lower Mississippi River.

Bo Wang, and Yi-Jun Xu yjxu@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

Sources of CO2 over the Gulf Coast and the US using the CMAQ model during 2012.

Pengfei Wang, and Hongliang Zhang hlzhang@lsu.edu. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803.


 

Decadal changes in annual minimum and maximum river discharge from the continental United States to the Gulf of Mexico.

Y. Jun Xu yjxu@lsu.edu, and Yan Qi Louisiana State University.


 

Biogeochemical connectivity of dissolved carbon across the waterscape of a low gradient watershed.

Zhen Xu zxu3@lsu.edu, and Y. Jun Xu yjxu@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

Hydraulic Modeling for Southwest Louisiana with Small River Systems.

Arun Yadav msu-ayadav@student.mcneese.edu and Ning Zhang nzhang@mcneese.edu McNeese State University.


 

Solar Radiation Effects on Partial Pressure of Carbon Dioxide in Shallow Lakes.

Rongjie Yang, Zhen Xu, Shiliang Liu, and Yijun Xu yjxu@lsu.edu Louisiana State University.


 

Investigation of saltwater intrusion mitigation strategies for Baton Rouge multi-aquifer system.

Jina Yin jyin3@lsu.edu, and Frank Tsai Louisiana State University.