Asian Studies Faculty

Asiya Alam
aalam@lsu.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of History
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin, 2012
Asian Studies Specialty: South Asia; gender studies

Paula K. Arai
parai@lsu.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy & Religious Studies
Ph.D. Harvard University, 1993.
Asian Studies Specialty: Japanese Religions.

Kathryn A. Barton
kathrynannbarton@gmail.com
Instructor, HSS
Asian Studies Specialty: Japanese Film

Areendam Chanda
achanda@lsu.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Economics
Ph.D. Brown University, 2001.
Asian Studies Specialty: International Economics.

Ye-So Chen
qmchen@lsu.edu
Professor, Business School
Ph.D. Perdue University
Asian Studies Specialty: China, Emerging Markets and Entrepreneurial Opportunities.

Wonik Kim
wkim@lsu.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
Ph.D. New York University, 2004
Asian Studies Specialty: East Asian Politics

William Ma
williamma1@lsu.edu
Assistant Professor, College of Art and Design
Ph.D. University of California at Berleley
Chinese Art History

Brian Marks
bmarks@lsu.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Geography & Anthropology
Ph.D. The University of Arizona, 2012
Asian Studies Specialty: Vietnam

Qiancheng Li
liqianc1@lsu.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
Ph.D. Washington University, 1999
Asian Studies Specialty: Chinese Language and Literature

Pallavi Rastogi
prastogi@lsu.edu
Associate Professor, Department of English
Ph.D. Tufts University, 2002
Asian Studies Specialty: Postcolonial Literature

Charles J. Shindo
cshindo@lsu.edu
Associate Professor, Department of History
Ph.D. Univeristy of Rochester, 1992
Asian Studies Specialty: Asian American History

Fahui Wang 
fwang@lsu.edu
James J. Parsons Professor, Department of Geography & Anthropology
Director, Chinese Culture and Commerce Program.
Ph.D. Ohio State University
Asian Studies Specialty: Geography of China (Geog 4037)

Jack Yeager
jay@lsu.edu
Professor, Department of French Studies
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin Madison
Asian Studies Specialty: Southeast Asian Francophone Literature

Margherita Zanasi, Director
mzanasi@lsu.edu
Associate Professor, Department of History
Ph.D. Columbia University
Asian Studies Specialty: Modern Chinese History

Gang Zhou
gzhou@lsu.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
Ph.D. University of California Davisa
Asian Studies Specialty: Chinese Language and Literature

Jun Zou
junjiang@lsu.edu
Associate Professor, School of Interior Design
Master of Architecture of Hunan University and Carleton University