Department
of
History



In The Krio of West Africa: Islam, Culture, Creolization, and Colonialism in the Nineteenth Century, Prof. Gibril Cole challenges the long-standing historiography on the history of Sierra Leone, and shows that the terms "Krio" and "Creole" are far from interchangeable. Click here for more information on this book, which is based on some of the first sustained historical research since the end of Sierra Leone's brutal civil war. (Ohio University Press/Swallow Press, 2013)

 


Home

About Us

Graduate Studies

Undergraduate Studies

Fields of Study

Giving to the History Department

College of Humanities & Social Sciences

LSU Home

Click Here for information about Phi Alpha Theta, the international honor society for students of history, including membership requirements and contact names. 

 
 

Fall 2014 course listings

Professors have provided descriptions of courses offered for the coming semester to help students in planning their studies. Descriptions, including overviews of scope, subject matter, expectations and work load, are available by clicking this link: Fall 2014

LSU historians help keep perspective

Prof. Karl Roider was a guest March 20th on the "Jim Engster Show," the current events interview program on Baton Rouge public radio station WRKF. Dr. Roider, an expert on Eastern European history, pointed out that the Russian annexation of the Crimean Peninsula from Ukraine is likely to leave Russia with some serious economic difficulties, including expensive-to-maintain military bases and a crumbling tourist economy.  An audio recording of the entire program is available at the WRKF website at: Jim Engster 3/20/2014.

Prof. Aaron Sheehan-Dean helped provide a historical perspective for a recent article in the Baton Rouge Advocate newspaper concerning the legacy of slavery and how it is handled in the context of tours at historical plantation sites in Louisiana. The article is at: Baton Rouge Advocate 3/24/2014.

Prof. Andrew Burstein's most recent book, Lincoln Dreamt He Died: The Midnight Visions of Remarkable Americans from Colonial Times to Freud, is a cultural history of dreams, examining the inner lives of earlier generations of Americans (Palgrave McMillan). Prof. Benjamin Martin's new book, Years of Plenty, Years of Want: France and the Legacy of the Great War,  examines the national mood and daily life of France in 1914 and 1939, to help explain the burden of winning the Great War and embracing the collapse that followed (Northern Illinois U. Press).

Faculty
(click for more information)

Stephen AndesStephen Andes
Assistant Professor

Modern Mexico; Latin America
237A Himes Hall
578-6669
sandes@lsu.edu  

Devyn S. BensonDevyn S. Benson
Assistant Professor

Cuba; Latin American/Caribbean
231B Himes Hall
578-2671
dbenson@lsu.edu  

Andrew BursteinAndrew Burstein
Charles Phelps Manship Professor

Early American Republic
220 Himes Hall
578-4451
aburstein@lsu.edu  

Nancy ClarkNancy Clark
Professor; Dean of Honors College

Research Interest: Africa
205 French House
578-8831
nclark@lsu.edu

Gibril R. ColeGibril R. Cole
Associate Professor

Africa
World

225C Himes Hall
578-4591
gcole@lsu.edu 

William J. CooperWilliam J. Cooper
Boyd Professor

U.S. South, 19th-c. U.S.
225D Himes Hall
578-4495
wcooper@lsu.edu

David H. CulbertDavid H. Culbert
John L. Loos Professor

U.S. Diplomatic, Mass Media
250H Himes Hall
578-4503
dhculbert@aol.com

Maribel DietzMaribel Dietz
Associate Professor

 

Medieval Europe, Late Antiquity
238C Himes Hall
578-1141
maribel@lsu.edu

Gaines M. FosterGaines M. Foster
T. Harry Williams Professor; Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences

New South
132 Hodges Hall
578-8273
hyfost@lsu.edu

Zevi GutfreundZevi Gutfreund
Assistant Professor

20th-century U.S.
231D Himes Hall
578-4501
zgutfreund@lsu.edu

James D. HardyJames D. Hardy
Professor 

Early modern Europe
205 French House
578-8831
hrhard@lsu.edu

John B. HendersonJohn B. Henderson
William R. and Letitia Bell Endowed Professor

East Asia, China
250G Himes Hall
578-4452
jbhende@lsu.edu

Paul E. HoffmanPaul E. Hoffman
Paul W. and Nancy W. Murrill Professor

Colonial Latin America, borderlands, Spain
221C Himes Hall
578-4459
hyhoff@lsu.edu

Nancy IsenbergNancy Isenberg
Professor

Women's History; Early American Republic
225A Himes Hall
578-4492
nisenberg@lsu.edu  

Christine J. KooiChristine J. Kooi
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

 

Renaissance and Reformation, Netherlands
238A Himes Hall
578-4499
ckooi1@lsu.edu

Alecia P. LongAlecia P. Long
Associate Professor

U.S. South, Louisiana
223B Himes Hall
578-4413
aplong@lsu.edu

Suzanne L. MarchandSuzanne L. Marchand
Professor

European intellectual, Modern Europe, Germany
250F Himes Hall
578-4454              
smarch1@lsu.edu   

Benjamin F. MartinBenjamin F. Martin
Katheryn, Lewis, and Benjamin Price Professor

Modern France, 19th-century Europe
231C Himes Hall
578-4497
bmarti9@lsu.edu

Michael T. PasquierMichael Pasquier

Assistant Professor

American Religious History
208A Coates Hall
578-2271
mpasquier@lsu.edu

Kodi RobertsKodi Roberts
Assistant Professor

African-American History
237C Himes Hall
578-3106
kodiroberts@lsu.edu

Karl A. RoiderKarl A. Roider
Thomas and Lillian Landrum Alumni Professor

East Central Europe
216B Himes Hall
578-4498
kroider@lsu.edu

Steven K. RossSteven K. Ross
Associate Professor

Ancient Mediterranean
238B Himes Hall
578-0460
skross@lsu.edu

Aaron Sheehan-DeanAaron Sheehan-Dean
Fred C. Frey Professor

Civil War; 19th-century South
231 Himes Hall
578-4507
asd@lsu.edu

Charles J. ShindoCharles J. Shindo
Professor

20th-century U.S., American West, Asian American
237B Himes Hall
578-4478
cshindo@lsu.edu

Victor L. StaterVictor L. Stater
Professor; Department Chair

Tudor-Stuart England
224 Himes Hall
578-4471
stater@lsu.edu

Meredith VeldmanMeredith Veldman
Associate Professor

Modern Britain
223B Himes Hall
578-4413
hyveld@lsu.edu  

Margherita Zanasi
Associate Professor

Margherita Zanasi

Modern China
217E  Himes Hall
578-4108
mzanasi@lsu.edu 

 

RECENTLY RETIRED FACULTY
 

Stanley Hilton
shiltonlsu@aol.com 

David Lindenfeld
hylind@lsu.edu 

Paul Paskoff, Emeritus
ppaskoff@lsu.edu 

 

 

"" LSU Home ""