Bookmark and Share


Forever LSU

The Campaign for
Louisiana State University

LSU's second list of "Rainmakers" was announced recently, and the faculty members were honored at the annual Rainmakers Gala on Oct. 13. The group of 100 outstanding research and creative faculty represents a variety of disciplines across campus. Pictured from left to right, Stephen Beck (CCT Interim Director) and his wife Kathy Carroll, and Rita Culross (facing forward). In background, Kevin Carman (Dean, Basic Sciences).

LSU Announces 2009 Rainmakers

LSU recently announced its second annual list of “Rainmakers,” those faculty members who are nationally and internationally recognized for innovative research and creative scholarship, compete for external funding at the highest levels and attract and mentor exceptional graduate students.

Paul Hoffman (History), his wife Barbara Hoffman and Eugene Turner (SC&E)

Jagannatham Ramanujam (ECE) and Rudy Hirschheim (ISDS)

Offering due recognition for their exceptional productivity, these 100 outstanding research and creative faculty were recognized at the annual Rainmakers Gala, a dinner and award ceremony held Oct.13.

Among this year’s round of award recipients are faculty from nearly all disciplines on the LSU campus.

Vice Chancellor of Research & Economic Development Brooks Keel solicited nominations from nearly 50 departments representing 12 major academic divisions in both scientific and artistic fields.

“This year’s selection of Rainmakers shows the great diversity of research and creative scholarship present on this campus,” said Keel. “These scholars represent the essence of what makes our university great – a strong commitment to excellence in teaching, outreach and scholarship, no matter what the field of study might be.”

The nomination process is held annually, giving opportunity for recognition to all faculty who demonstrate exceptional academic productivity in a given year. Nominees are eligible regardless of their tenure at LSU and include both emerging and well-established university scholars.

For more information about the Rainmakers Gala celebration or the outstanding work of this year’s selected recipients, contact the Office of Research & Economic Development, 225-578-5833, or e-mail placing “LSU Rainmakers Gala” in the subject line.

Visit for a complete list of all 2009 Rainmakers.

Ashley Berthelot | Editor | Office of Communications & University Relations
October 2009