Forever LSU

The Campaign for
Louisiana State University

2009 Winners
photo photo
Audience Best of the Festival award A&S Scholarship
award - $300
photo photo
Basic Sciences Scholarship award - $150 Art+Design Scholarship award - $150
photo photo
1st place
Broadcast Journalism
1st place
photo photo
Integrated Media
1st place
Digital Photography
1st place
photo photo
Gumbo- Experimental
1st place
Film & Video
1st place

Digital Media Festival Honors Talented Students

LSU’s Communication across the Curriculum program held its third annual Digital Media Festival April 16-17. The festival, a celebration of work submitted by LSU undergraduate students in all forms of digital media, from photography to film to animation, featured 98 total entries in six multimedia categories: film and video, animation, journalism, integrated media, photography and experimental.

“We were really excited about the turnout for this year’s festival,” said Rebecca Burdette, assistant director of LSU Communication across the Curriculum. “We’re planning to continue the festival next year with an even greater focus on interdisciplinary collaboration. We hope to integrate it with LSU’s 2010 sesquicentennial celebration to give the entire community the opportunity to view and celebrate the amazing work LSU students are doing with digital media.”

The submissions were judged by industry professionals and displayed, with $2,500 in prizes awarded.

The two-day festival also featured educational displays and X-Box and Nintendo Wii game-testing stations sponsored by EA Sports. Speakers from within the digital media industry were on hand, including keynote speakers Philip Holt, vice president and studio general manager of EA Sports, and Jerry Gilbert, president of PostDigital, formerly known as Louisiana Media Services.

Among the prizes awarded were: a $300 scholarship from the College of Arts & Sciences, which was awarded to J.J. Alcantara for his digital photography piece, “Colors in the Night”; a pair of $150 scholarships from the colleges of Basic Sciences and Art + Design, which respectively went to Khayyam Sahir Khan for his digital photography submission, “Don’t Box in Beauty,” and LeeAnna Rhodes for her integrated media submission, “Loves You with an H.”

Dominick Sparacino also won an iPod Touch for the Audience Best of the Festival award for his film, “A Day in the Dirt.”

Winners in other categories are as follows:

  • Film & Video
    1st Place – Amy Dyess – “La glaie bleue (Iris)”
  • Animation
    1st Place – Tyghe Conway – “Will You Marry Me?”
  • Broadcast Journalism
    1st Place – Anna M. Brown – “Proposition 8”
  • Integrated Media
    1st Place – James Spencer – “Victorinox Multitool”
  • Digital Photography
    1st Place – Kathleen Rogers – “A Rainy Arrival”
  • Gumbo (Experimental)
    1st Place – Christian Quitadamo, Preston Tesvich, Brandon Breaux, Chase Zieman – “TNA Technology News- iMe Product Coming to a Store Near You”

For more information about the Digital Media Festival, visit

Billy Gomila | Editor | Office of Communications & University Relations
May 2009