Enrollment is open to emergency response personnel and other persons, 18 years of age or older (see exception below), who are interested in fire and emergency response training. All students attending LSU Carrol L. Herring Fire and Emergency Training Institute classes must have the authorization of their organization. It is the responsibility of the authorizing organization to assure that the student meets the minimal educational, training performance, and physical standards required by the National Fire Protection Association and the Occupational Safety and Health Administration for the type of training for which he/she is registering.
Exception: Students who are 16 years of age may be eligible to enter a Basic Life Support for Healthcare Provider and First Responder Course if other requirements and pre-requisites of the La. Bureau of EMS are met. These students must also have written permission from their legal guardian.
Enrollment in the class is contingent upon FETI receiving a completed registration request and valid payment method prior to the day of class. Valid payment method includes card, check, money order, or purchase order (hard copy PO must be submitted). A confirmation letter will be sent by email indicating acceptance in a particular class.
Registration procedures vary with different programs. Some sections of this catalog have specific registration requirements listed along with the program description. Students should read these requirements carefully and follow the procedures.
Some courses are offered at no charge to the Louisiana Fire Departments only. Any student who is not a member of a Louisiana Fire Department must pay all course charges by the start of the class. All stated charges are per person.
Some courses have charges that are used to help defray the cost of insurance and training materials. Charges must be paid in advance at time of registration or a copy of a valid purchase order (PO) must be provided for invoicing with the company billing address identified. Accepted payment methods are: check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, or Discover card. This payment policy does not apply to client-specific courses.
Course charges are nonrefundable unless cancellation is confirmed in writing and received at the FETI office at least two weeks prior to the starting date of the class. Once an individual has enrolled, if cancellation is not received at least two weeks prior to the beginning of the class, that individual or the sponsoring agency will be billed even if he/she does not attend. If a student is unable to attend a class, another participant may be substituted by the authorizing agency before the class begins as long as that individual qualifies. Refunds will not be given if a student does not successfully complete the course. Successful course completion represents an 80% attendance and participation level. In the event the course is cancelled, course charges will be refunded.
FETI has been directed to implement a number of procedural changes when class cancellation requests are received. Registration cancellations/changes related to medical emergencies, death of immediate family members, being directed by your home agency for response to an emergency or natural disaster, civil duties, or court proceedings will be accepted. Registration cancellations/changes, which are required in writing by fax or email, should include a concise justification supporting your request.
Information concerning charges for individual courses will be listed along with the course description.
Charges are subject to change without prior notice.
Upon arrival at the institute, each student must check-in. Check-in will take place from 7:30 a.m. to 8 a.m. on the reporting date. Some special classes are held at night, and starting and ending times may vary.
Some courses may be requested from FETI throughout the year and delivered at locations statewide. Due to its nature it is highly recommended that a class be requested at least 90 days in advance of the intended delivery date. Subsequent delivery is subject to the availability of the instructor.
Reading and passing written examinations is an essential element of many of the FETI programs. Requests for accommodations for disabilities will be considered on a case by case basis once adequate contemporary documentation of the disability and of the need for the specific accommodations requested have been provided. Accommodations which would alter essential elements of a particular program will not be granted.
Requests for accommodations must be received by LSU FETI at least 30 days prior to a certification exam or the start of a course. For more information, please contact Miranda Meynard at 225-334-6300.
Many of the FETI courses offer the option of taking the Certification examination for that particular course. If the student chooses to take the Certification examination that is coordinated through the Louisiana State University Firefighter and Emergency Responder Certification Program, there is an additional charge. The charge is not the same for each examination and it is not included in the course fees. Not all courses offer a certification exam. More Certification information can be found under the Certification tab.