Medieval & Renaissance Faculty at LSU

Project Directors
Core Faculty
Complete Medieval and Renaissance Faculty


Project Directors

Dr. Maribel Dietz
Assistant Professor of History (Ph.D. Princeton, 1997)
Medieval Europe, Late Antiquity
Office:  231-D Himes Hall
Phone:  (225) 578-1141
maribel@lsu.edu  

Maribel Dietz specializes in the history of the late antique and early medieval Mediterranean world.  Her work is interdisciplinary in nature involving the areas of history, religion, and art.  Her current work concentrates on travel and early monasticism.  As an assistant professor at LSU, Dr. Dietz has labored to create an interdisciplinary Medieval and Renaissance studies group. She has a strong commitment to the utility of interdisciplinary studies both in research and teaching, undergraduate and graduate.  She has advised three Ph.D. dissertations to completion and currently has three Ph.D. students.
 

Dr. Kirstin Noreen
Assistant Professor of Art History (Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University, 1999)
Medieval Art History, Italy
Office:  321B Art Building
Phone:  (225) 578-7429
knoree1@lsu.edu

A specialist in medieval Roman painting, Prof. Noreen has recent publications on the eleventh-century frescoes in the church of Sant’Urbano alla Caffarella (Rome) as well as the revival of Early Christian and medieval art in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.  She is currently working on the afterlife of medieval icons during the Counter-Reformation.  In addition to taking an interdisciplinary approach in both her research and teaching, Dr. Noreen has also been involved in the application of new technologies in the classroom; she is now developing an interactive website for the introductory course to art history.
top 
 

 
 

Core Faculty
 

The twelve core participants committed to the project come from seven different departments, four colleges, and the libraries.
 

Maribel Dietz, Dept. of History, maribel@lsu.edu

Jan Herlinger, Music, janh@lsu.edu

Paul E. Hoffman, Dept. of History, hyhoff@lsu.edu 

Alison McFarland, Dept. of Music, amcfar@lsu.edu 

Susannah Monta, Dept. of English, smonta@lsu.edu 

Kirstin Noreen, School of Art, knoree1@lsu.edu 

Lisi Oliver, Dept. of English, lolive1@lsu.edu 

Faye Phillips, Special Collections, Hill Memorial Library, fphilli@lsu.edu 

Mary Sirridge, Dept. of Philosophy, pisirr@lsu.edu 

Greg Stone, Dept. of French and French Studies, stone@lsu.edu 

Mark Zucker, School of Art, mzucker@lsu.edu
top
 

Complete Medieval and Renaissance Faculty

 

 

Leigh Clemons (Theatre), clemons@lsu.edu
Anne Coldiron (English), acoldiron@lsu.edu
Christine Cowan (English & Honors College), dante@lsu.edu
Maribel Dietz (History), maribel@lsu.edu
Femi Euba (Theatre), theuba@lsu.edu
Jesse Gellrich (English), jgellri@lsu.edu
Robert Hamm (English) rhamm@lsu.edu
John Henderson (History), jbhende@lsu.edu
Jan Herlinger (Music), janh@lsu.edu
Paul Hoffman (History), hyhoff@lsu.edu
Ann Holmes (Honors College), aholmes@lsu.edu
Kate Jensen (French & French Studies), kjensen@lsu.edu
Christine Kooi (History), ckooi1@lsu.edu
Alexandre Leupin (French & French Studies), frleup@lsu.edu
Marchita Mauck (Art), mmauck@lsu.edu
Michael McAuley (Law School), michael.mcauley@law.lsu.edu
Alison McFarland (Music), amcfar@lsu.edu
Robert McMahon (English & Honors College), rcmcmah@lsu.edu
Susannah Monta (English), smonta@lsu.edu
Kirstin Noreen (Art), knoree1@lsu.edu
Lisi Oliver (English & Linguistics), lolive1@lsu.edu
Margaret Parker (Spanish), mparker@lsu.edu
Sylvia Parsons (Latin) sparsons@lsu.edu
Faye Phillips (Hill Memorial Library), fphilli@lsu.edu
John Protevi (French & French Studies), protevi@lsu.edu
G. Ellis Sandoz (Political Science), esandoz@lsu.edu
Gregory Schufreider (Philosophy & Religious Studies), gschufr@lsu.edu
Fredrikke Scollard (Art), fscolla@lsu.edu
Mary Sirridge (Philosophy), pisirr@lsu.edu
Elaine Smyth (Hill Memorial Library), esmyth@lsu.edu
Victor Stater (History), stater@lsu.edu
Gregory Stone (French & French Studies), stone@lsu.edu
James Stoner (Political Science), poston@lsu.edu
Leslie Wade (Theatre), thwade@lsu.edu
Melissa Waldman-Stem (French & French Studies), mstem@lsu.edu
Mark Zucker (Art), mzucker@lsu.edu
top

This website has been supported by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities
Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this project do not necessarily reflect those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.