Login to myLSU  
Louisiana State University
LSU Directory    LSU A-Z  


  • In 2008, 43 percent of LSU’s student-athletes had a G.P.A. of at least 3.0, with 32 earning a perfect 4.0. In all, 177 student-athletes were either named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll or the LSU Director’s Cup.

  • LSU capped the most successful athletics season -- from top to bottom -- in school history by recording an eighth-place finish in the 2008 U.S. Sports Academy Director’s Cup. The eighth-place finish is the highest for LSU since the inception of the director’s cup in 1993-94. The Tigers accumulated an all-time high 1,085 points in 17 of a possible 20 sports, a first in school history. In all, the Tigers sent 19 of their 20 teams to NCAA postseason play in 2007-08. Eight teams finished in the top five nationally of their respective sports.

  • With a capacity of 92,400, Tiger Stadium is the seventh-largest on-campus stadium in the nation. When full, "Death Valley" contains more people than there are in 51 of Louisiana's 64 parishes.

  • In 2008, FOX Sports named Tiger Stadium the toughest place to play college football; while in 2007, ESPN’s Bruce Feldman named Tiger Stadium the "scariest place to play college football."

  • LSU is one of only two schools in the nation to have won two BCS National Championships, defeating Oklahoma in the Sugar Bowl to claim the 2003 title and knocking off Ohio State in the BCS National Championship Game to win the 2007 title.

  • LSU claimed its 10th SEC Football Championship by defeating Tennessee, 21-14, on Dec. 1, 2007, in Atlanta. The Tigers’ three SEC titles since 2000 are the most of any school in the league during that span.

  • At the conclusion of the 2005-06 regular season, LSU became the first school in the history of the Southeastern Conference to win both the men's and women's outright league basketball championships in the same season.

  • The LSU baseball team opened its new Alex Box Stadium in 2009. With a school record for attendance, the Tigers have now led the nation in total home attendance for 14 straight years dating back to 1996. In 2009, 403,056 fans attended 42 games for an average of 9,596 per game. This season's number broke the previous record of 318,798, which was set in 2008 in the final season at the original Alex Box Stadium.

  • Former LSU baseball coach and athletic director emeritus Skip Bertman is one of only two coaches to win five national championships. Bertman led the Tigers to College World Series titles in 1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, and 2000. He retired after the 2001 season with 870 career victories. In 2002, he was inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame; and in 2006, was inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame as part of the inaugural class.

  • The LSU men’s basketball team advanced to the Final Four in 2006—a year that saw then-head coach John Brady named SEC Coach of the Year, forward Glen “Big Baby” Davis named First-Team All-SEC and SEC Player of the Year, forward Tyrus Thomas named SEC Freshman of the Year and Second-Team All-SEC, and guard Darrell Mitchell named First-Team All-SEC.

  • In 2002, the LSU Tiger Band was the recipient of the Sudler Trophy. Awarded annually by the John Phillip Sousa Society, the trophy is given each year to a “college or university marching band which has demonstrated the highest musical standards and innovative marching routines and ideas, and which has made important contributions to the advancement of the performance standards of college marching bands over a period of years.”

  • The Cox Communications Academic Center for Student-Athletes at LSU reigns in the top tier nationally of academic centers for university athletes. The state-of-the-art, 52,000 square-foot facility houses a 1,000 seat Internet accessible auditorium, tutorial center, computer lab, 2,800 square-foot resource library, meeting rooms, classrooms, an NCAA CHAMPS/Life Skills Center and a Directed Studies Center.

  • Twenty-one LSU student-athletes have won the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship award, given annually to 174 student-athletes who excel academically and are in their final year of collegiate competition. In 2010, women's volleyball player Lauren DeGirolamo and track athlete Katelyn Rodrigue became the most recent Tigers to win the award.

  • Since 1959, 53 LSU student-athletes have won a total of 65 Academic All-America awards. Voted on by members of the College Sports Information Directors Association (CoSIDA), the Academic All-America honor is the most prestigious a student-athlete can receive.

  • Since it was established in 1986, five LSU student-athletes have won the prestigious SEC H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. Two students each year are chosen to receive the award, which is voted on by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from SEC schools. Tigers football player Rudy Niswanger was the most recent recipient, in 2005, the same year he also picked up the Draddy Trophy—known as the “Academic Heisman”—and the Wuerffel Trophy—known as the “Humanitarian Heisman.”

  • The Brad Davis SEC Community Service Postgraduate Scholar Award is presented to two student-athletes annually. Two LSU athletes, both baseball players, have garnered the honor since its inception in 1996 - Jordan Faircloth in 2005 and Tim Lanier in 1997. Chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from SEC universities, each received a $5,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the SEC.


LSU Office of Communications & University Relations

3960 West Lakeshore Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Telephone: 225-578-8654
Fax: 225-578-3860
Email: urelat1@lsu.edu
Copyright © 2013. All Rights Reserved. Official Web Page of Louisiana State University.