Meeting Index

Eric Voegelin Society Meeting 2007

ERIC VOEGELIN SOCIETY PROGRAM

23rd Annual International Meeting

Chicago, Aug.30-Sept. 2, 2007

 

 

Posted by permission of the respective authors. Copyright 2007. 

All rights reserved.

 

 

Organizer: Prof. Ellis Sandoz, Louisiana State University

                Secretary, Eric Voegelin Society

                Director, Eric Voegelin Institute for American Renaissance Studies

               <esandoz@lsu.edu>

 

 

Panel 1. The Relevance of Plato

 

 

Chair: Zdravko Planinc, McMaster University

          <planincz@mcmaster.ca>

 

Papers:     

"The Problem of Political Virtue in Plato's Protagoras"

Eric Petrie, James Madison College, Michigan State University

 

"The Drama of the Politikos"

James Rhodes, Marquette University

<james.rhodes@marquette.edu>

 

"Equivalences of Experience and Symbolization in Plato and Homer"

Zdravko Planinc, McMaster University

 

Disc: Ron Srigley, Thorneloe University

          <rsrigley@laurentian.ca>

 

        Steve McCarl, University of Denver

          <smccarl@du.edu>

 

        Jeremy Mhire, University of Virginia

         <jeremy.mhire@worldnet.att.net>

 

Panel 2.  Equivalences of Symbolization-Experience in China?  

 

 

Chair: James Wiser, University of San Francisco

           <jwiser@usfca.edu>

Papers:

"Equivalences of Experience and Symbolization in Plato and Homer"

S. Barret Dolph, Pegasus International Schools

**The Adobe Acrobat Software is required to view this particular paper.**

 

"Ambiguity and the Concern with Language in the Traditions of Chinese Buddhist Philosophy"

Hans-Rudolf Kantor, Huafan University

 

"Sagehood as Spiritual Rhetoric:  The Concept of Language in Confucianism"

Kai Marchal, Huafan University

           

Disc.: Barret Dolph, Pegasus International Schools

          <wheds8@ms66.hinet.net>

 

         Timothy Hoye, Texas Woman's University

 

 

Panel 3.  Scientism, Westernization, and Liberty in Chinese Politics  

 

 

Chair: Michael Franz, Loyola College of Maryland

           <mfranz@loyola.edu>

 

Papers:

"Scientism and the Dogmatics of Modernity”

David Whitney, Louisiana State University

Dept. of Political Science

 

"God and the Essence of Liberty: A Preliminary Inquiry into the History of Freedom”

Hong Xu,  Asian Business Leaders Magazine (Beijing)

 

"Westernization: concepts, discourses, and life styles"

HUANG Kuan-Min, Huafan University

 

 

Disc.: Robert J. Cihak, M. D., independent scholar   

          <rjcihak@comcast.net>

 

          Yu Nam Kim, Dankook University

          <kimyunam@yahoo.co.kr>

 

         Xu Zhiyue, Fudan University

          <xuzhiyuesh@yahoo.com>  

 

         John Danford, Loyola University Chicago

 

           

Panel 4. The Authority of Truth: Eric Voegelin's Hitler and the Germans  

 

 

Chair:  Ellis Sandoz, Louisiana State University

            <esandoz@lsu.edu>

Papers.:   

"Personal and Social Corruption and the Philosopher's Authority”

Ellis Sandoz, Louisiana State University

 

"Can a Philosopher be a Prophetic Witness to the Truth?”

  Brendan Purcell, University College Dublin

 

"Hitler and the Germans and the Loss of Christian Truth"

Michael Henry, St. Johns University

<HENRYM@stjohns.edu>

 

"Voegelin's Use of Musil's Concept of  'Intelligent Stupidity' "

Glenn Hughes, St. Mary's University San Antonio

 

"Voegelin's Hitler and the Germans Revisited”

Joseph Prud'homme, Villanova University

<joseph.prudhomme@villanova.edu>

 

"The Philosopher's Vocation: Voegelin, Francis Graham Wilson, and the Theophanic"

H. Lee Cheek, Brewton-Parker College

<lcheek@bpc.edu>

 

Disc.: Thomas Hollweck, University of Colorado–Boulder

          <thomas.hollweck@colorado.edu>

 

          Peter von Sivers, University of Utah

          <Peter.VonSivers@m.cc.utah.edu>

 

 

Panel 5.   Civil Theology of the American Founding  

 

 

 Chair:  Glenn Moots, Northwood University

             <gmmoots@concentric.net> and <moots@northwood.edu>

 

Papers: 

 

"The Connecticut Wits and the Formation of America's Messianic Destiny”

Richard Gamble, Hillsdale College

<Richard.Gamble@hillsdale.edu>

 

"George Washington's Civil Religion”

Jeffry Morrison, Regent University

<jeffmor@regent.edu>

 

"All Such Disobedience is Lawful and Glorious: Rational Dissent and Resistance Theory in Jonathan Mayhew's Civil Theology”   

John Patrick Mullins, Saginaw Valley State University

<jpatrickmullins@gmail.com >

 

"Revolutionary-era America: Was it Enlightened or Protestant? Does it Matter”

Barry Shain, Colgate University

 

Disc.: Scott Segrest,  Liberty Fund, Inc.

          <ssegrest@libertyfund.org>

 

          Glenn Moots, Northwood University

          <gmmoots@concentric.net and> moots@northwood.edu

 

           

Panel 6. Mysticism, Philosophy, and Holocaust Studies  

 

 

Chair: Macon Bozcek, John Carroll University

           <MaconBoczek@aol.com>

 

Papers:

"Faith and Reason Reconsidered”

Macon Bozcek, John Carroll University  

**The Adobe Acrobat Software is required to view this particular paper.**

 

"Voegelin and Bonhoeffer: History, Transcendence and the Holocaust”

Jeremiah Russell, Louisiana State University

 

"Heaven in Hell: A Voegelinian Exploration of the Life and Writings of Etty Hillesum”

Meins G. S. Coetsier, University of Ghent

<meinscoe@hotmail.com>

 

"The Space of Politics: Voegelin, Arendt, and Wolin Compared”

Thomas Heilke, Kansas University

 **The Adobe Acrobat Software is required to view this particular paper.**

 

Disc.: Marie Baird, Duquesne University

          <bairdm@duq.edu>

 

         John von Heyking, University of Lethbridge

          <john.vonheyking@uleth.ca>

           

Panel 7. Good and Evil in Politics, Experience, and Political Theory  

 

 

Chair: David Walsh, Catholic University of America

           <walshd@cua.edu>  

 

Papers:

"Voegelin and Hume on Philosophical Pathology”

Kevin S. Honeycutt, Emory University

 

"Was Eric Voegelin the Anti-Heidegger?"

William T. Tete, Loyola University of New Orleans 

  

"Voegelin's Intellectual Biography: Gleanings from His Correspondence

Thomas Hollweck, University of Colorado–Boulder

<thomas.hollweck@colorado.edu>

                       

Disc.:  William Miller,Marymount University

            

            Jodi Bruhn, Independent Scholar

 

            John von Heyking, University of Lethbridge

Panel 8.  Hannah Arendt, Leo Strauss and Eric Voegelin: Rival Visions of Politics and Reality  

 

 

Chair: Barry Cooper, University of Calgary

           <bcooper@ucalgary.ca>

 

Papers:

"The Catholic Moment in the Political Philosophy of Leo Strauss"

James R. Stoner, Louisiana State University

<poston@lsu.edu>

 

"Why Leo Strauss is Not an Aristotelian: An Exploratory Study"

Michael Zuckert, University of Notre Dame  

 

"Arendt's politics of  'worldliness' and its critique by Strauss and Voegelin" 

Horst Mewes, University of Colorado at Boulder

<horst.mewes@colorado.edu>

 

"Voegelin, Strauss, and Arendt on: What is Political Philosophy”

Timothy Fuller, Colorado College

<Tfuller@ColoradoCollege.edu>

 

Disc.:  Martin Palouš, Charles University

           <Martin_Palous@mzv.cz>  

 

           Barry Cooper, University of Calgary

  

           Henrik Syse, Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)

           <hsyse@online.no>

 

Panel 9.  Voegelin's Quandary: Faith in Search of Understanding or Understanding in Search of Faith?  

 

 

Chair:  Glenn Hughes, St. Mary's University–San Antonio

            <ghughes@stmarytx.edu>

 

Papers: 

"Eric Voegelin: Understanding in Search of Faith?”

Stefan Rossbach, University of Kent

<s.rossbach@kent.ac.uk>

 

"Faith Seeking Understanding”

Frederick Lawrence, Boston College

 

Disc.:  Glenn Hughes, St. Mary's University–San Antonio

           

           Thomas McPartland, Kentucky State University

 

          Paul Caringella, Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace

           <paulcaringella@sbcglobal.net>

 

Panel 10. Philosophies of History and Theories of Politics  

 

 

Chair: Thomas McPartland, Kentucky State University

 

"The (Im)possibility of Politics: Voegelin and Kierkegaard”

Eugen L. Nagy, Catholic University of America

<09NAGY@cua.edu>

 

"Voegelin and Levinas”

Paul Caringella, Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace  

**The Adobe Acrobat Software is required to view this particular paper.**

 

"Albert Camus on the Modern Predicament”

Ron Srigley, Thornloe University 

<rsrigley@laurentian.ca>

 

"Giambattista Vico and Eric Voegelin on History and Politics”

Giuseppe Ballacci, University of Madrid  

**The Adobe Acrobat Software is required to view this particular paper.**

 

Disc.: Marie Baird, Duquesne University

 

          Craig Hanks, Texas State University

          < ch25@txstate.edu>

  

         Oana Cimpean, Louisiana State University